Beneath Your Beauty

One day I hope to be able to share intimate stories of my life, love, hurt and survival. For many of you couples, I’m sure you can relate…on many levels. Being able to share these things with your partner is…frankly, why you are together. You make “beautiful music together”. As you are planning your wedding, I know there are so many beautiful songs out there and when you are picking your “first-dance”…it should reflect you as a couple…your life together…your dreams together…

I’m not a big TV watcher (sans Scandal – which [almost] everyone I know watches…but last night, on Dancing with the Stars…I was simply moved to emotional tears at the dance Kellie Pickler and Derek Hough did.  I’ve actually watched it 1/2 a dozen times…yes, the dance was simply stunning…but the lyrics to Beneath Your Beautiful by Labrinth and Emeil Sande touched me.  Even as I write this…the Pisces in me is being incredibly sappy…but I believe in Love. I believe in Partnership.  I believe in Marriage and yes Damn It, I want to believe in Happily Ever After.  But I also know that in order to get these things…we go through a vast spectrum of emotions…hoping that that one person, sees us.  The beauty is when someone does see – rather, wants to see through the walls that you may have built up (because of hurt/sadness), the “perfect” image  you portray (because you need to seem strong), the face beneath the makeup (because every face, no matter how ‘perfect’ has flaws) and just wants to see You. The REAL YOU.  Love YOU. Want YOU. Treasure YOU. Honor YOU.

So today, I share the lyrics to the beautiful song Beneath Your Beauty and the amazing dance by Kellie and Mark. My wish for you (and me too) is that Tonight, “someone climbs on top of your tower, holds your hand and you’ll jump off together…knowing that you’ll be falling, but that’s ok because he’ll (she’ll) be right there with you and everything will be alright.”

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/5jHRxyaYDC8&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Beneath Your Beauty
Songwriters: Sande, Emeli / Mckenzie, Timothy / Posner, Mike
You tell all the boys no
Makes you feel good yeah
I know you’re out of my league
But that won’t scare me away oh no
You’ve carried on so long
You couldn’t stop if you tried it
You’ve built your wall so high
That no one could climb it
But I’m gonna try

Would you let me see beneath your beautiful
Would you let me see beneath your perfect
Take it off now girl, take it off now girl
I wanna see inside
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight

You let all the girls go
Makes you feel good, don’t it?
Behind your Broadway show
I heard a voice say please don’t hurt me
You’ve carried on so long
You couldn’t stop if you tried it
You’ve built your wall so high
That no one could climb it
But I’m gonna try

Would you let me see beneath your beautiful
Would you let me see beneath your perfect
Take it off now boy, take it off now boy
I wanna see inside
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight
Ohhh, Tonight

See beneath, See beneath,
I… Tonight
I…

I’m gonna climb on top your ivory tower
I’ll hold your hand and then we’ll jump right out
We’ll be falling, falling
But that’s okay
Cause I’ll be right here
I just wanna know

Would you let me see beneath your beautiful
Would you let me see beneath your perfect
Take it off now girl, take it off now girl
Cause I wanna see inside
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight
Tonight, see beneath your beautiful
Oh tonight, we ain’t perfect, we ain’t perfect
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight

One thought on “Beneath Your Beauty

  1. For the mirrorball trophy so deserved;I watched the special choreographed dance that Derek planned and executed extremely beautifully. Kellie is just a natural and that Derek did change his mind to compete this season was as he said for just the reason of Kellie crossing paths for he was destined to be her partner.What awesome and heartfelt pairing that made me cry and even her husband was crying.In fact, I believe Derek was even wiping his tears, not perspiration from his crest below his eyes. The both gave their best performance and made the correct choice to eliminate props within the dance. The body can express everything to convey such a message as it did for everyone. Super performance with the super couple of all seasons past and present!

Leave a Reply

