Happy Thanksgiving!!

Oh My Gosh!!  Can you believe that it’s Thanksgiving…again?!  Seems like it was just yesterday when there was turkey and all-that-food on the table.  Me saying, “I’ll just taste” well, I’m sure you know how that goes.

This year has been a ride and a half for me.  The economy has everyone in a tail-spin, weather that went from 110 degrees to early snow in October (WTH??) and the regular ups/downs of life.  So as I sit here wondering how to brace for Christmas, I will simply say “One day at a time”.

Honestly…and I’m putting it out there, if I see one more ‘Walmart Black-Friday’ commercial (which seems to be on every 8 min.), I’m going to scream. See, one is on now and I’m sure that it will be on again before I finish this. But seriously I’ve taken time in recent months to think about what I’m really, honestly thankful for.

Of course, I’m thankful for my mom and dad. Everyone thinks that their mom is the best, but mine truly is. If you met her, you would just want to hug her. She is elegant, beautiful, smart, patient, has a kind heart and is my rock. My dad…well, he’s the one that will be the first on the dance floor (in some instances still doing the dances from the 80’s and I’m hoping my nephew will teach him to do the Dougie – even though that might out-dated too), he is strong (read: stubborn), a softy and has always provided more than enough for his family.

My baby brother (all 6’+ of him) is one of the kindest people I know and while he may still be on the journey to find HIS way (as we all do), he’s working hard, getting there step-by-step and a great dad.  I’m very proud of him.

While there are other people in my life, these three are the constant. These three are the ones I rely on. They are the ones I’ve known the longest. These three are the ones I would do anything for and I know do anything for me. These three are the ones I’m most grateful for today.  Who are you grateful for?

I must also share that I’m super grateful to some wonderful, funny, pretty amazing women (and men) I’ve met in the wedding industry. I’ll even go so far to say, I’m grateful to those that I don’t consider friends (in the true form), but who respect the knowledge and different view, I bring to the ‘wedding table’ as it were. I have learned from both and no matter what…I’m going to keep doing what I do best – being me, being true and no ‘pay-for-play’ for higher ‘klout’ or ‘likes’.

Most of all, I’m so grateful to those of you who are subscribers – you made my year!! I can’t do this without you, your notes, your comments and support. I’m also amazed, honored and humbled by my clients who ride the up and down of media placement, book deals and events. You  understand that nothing is a quick fix and just because someone else got a placement, doesn’t mean you won’t. You don’t know how long it took them to get it, no matter if they say “it just dropped into my lap”.  I’m a publicist first and I love what I do for you and THANK YOU for allowing me to do it for you.

So in the spirit of being Thankful…I’m sharing my favorite group of folks with you – Charlie and the gang. No matter how old I get, Charlie Brown always makes me happy and brings such good memories of my childhood. I mean, you can’t be sad with Charlie…and I’m sure one day, Lucy will let him kick the ball.

Thank You for sitting at my table - I'm thankful to you!!

Until that time, I want to wish you and your families a very safe, healthy, healthful, fat-ful, amazing Thanksgiving. You give me a reason to work as hard as I do and be able to attend 71 NYFW shows, 31 Bridal Market shows, 20 Tabletop in addition to everything else…for that, I’m grateful.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

