Getting through marriage

If you’ve been a reader for a while, you know I don’t put my own life out there.  I’m here to talk about the business and various vendors of the wedding business that will ‘help you create the wedding of YOUR dreams’.  But I’ll let you in on a personal moment…frankly, I’m exhausted.  Between Kim Kardashian, Kris Humphries, writing holiday gift guides…it’s been a long – very long few days!!

I was watching the American Country Music Awards last night, and Martina McBride sang this and …. I thought…yea, this is what marriage is SUPPOSED to be about. Anything less…well, you too will have something short lived.

Marriage is what happens the day after the gifts are opened and the family/friends have gone away.

Marriage is the words, behind the vows (that so many just Polly-parrot back to the Reverend or Justice of the Peace).

Marriage even in the best of times, may not be the same thing for both, but you stick it out…which is why this song really touched me.

Am I a country music fan…well, I like some of it, but more than that, I am trying to live the truth of marriage in my advice to you and what it really takes. So as you prepare to propose, or accept the proposal or even walk down the aisle….can you say that your partner will unconditionally love you through…what ever it is (work, lack of work, illness, good times, bad breath, or anything else that life throws your way)?  If you can’t … then perhaps you should think again.

Trust me…it’s easier to end the planning than to be in a relationship/marriage and have your partner ‘fail’ in your expectations (or you fail theirs). It’s the failure of expectation and acknowledging that perhaps it’s not the ‘fairy-tail’ you thought it would (not the filing for divorce) that hurts the most.

Look, I don’t profess to know all that it is to be married other than having parents who have been for almost 50 years.  I have a great example with them. They are great friends, partners in crime, laugh with each other and still hold hands. Yes, I’m sure they have their moments – they are human, but they are together – still.  I do have faith that they will love each other through anything that life throws their way…Can you say the same?

“I’m Gonna Love You Through It” – Martina McBride

She dropped the phone and burst into tears
The doctor just confirmed her fears
Her husband held it in and held her tight
Cancer don’t discriminate or care if you’re just 38
With three kids who need you in their lives
He said, “I know that you’re afraid and I am, too
But you’ll never be alone, I promise you”

When you’re weak, I’ll be strong
When you let go, I’ll hold on
When you need to cry, I swear that I’ll be there to dry your eyes
When you feel lost and scared to death,
Like you can’t take one more step
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.

She made it through the surgery fine
They said they caught it just in time
But they had to take more than they planned
Now it’s forced smiles and baggy shirts
To hide what the cancer took from her
But she just wants to feel like a woman again
She said, “I don’t think I can do this anymore”
He took her in his arms and said “That’s what my love is for”

When you’re weak, I’ll be strong
When you let go, I’ll hold on
When you need to cry, I swear that I’ll be there to dry your eyes
When you feel lost and scared to death,
Like you can’t take one more step
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.

And when this road gets too long
I’ll be the rock you lean on
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.
I’m gonna love you through it.

Ok…I’m done. Wait…one more thing.

I wish for you, good health, wealth and good thing that life has to offer. Most of all, I wish for you, someone who will love you through all the curve balls that life sends.

4 thoughts on “Getting through marriage

  1. Bravo Lisa – great ‘take’ on marriage! You are right! The marriage starts the day after gifts are opened and the family and friends have gone back to their lives.
    Hardest thing to do is to really commit to a relationship, but when you do, it’s great!
    Thanks for great words of wisdom!
    Scentfully,
    Sue

  2. Bravo Lisa – great ‘take’ on marriage! You are right! The marriage starts the day after gifts are opened and the family and friends have gone back to their lives.
    Hardest thing to do is to really commit to a relationship, but when you do, it’s great!
    Thanks for great words of wisdom!
    Scentfully,
    Sue

    +1

Leave a Reply

